Difference between revisions of "National Youth Network"

From Scouts Canada Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
m (fixed links)
m (Updated list)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
== Scouts Canada National Youth Network ==
 
== Scouts Canada National Youth Network ==
 
  
 
The National Youth Network exists to:
 
The National Youth Network exists to:
Line 7: Line 6:
 
* Ensure coordination with council youth networks; and
 
* Ensure coordination with council youth networks; and
 
* Encourage youth to take on leadership roles at all levels of our organization.
 
* Encourage youth to take on leadership roles at all levels of our organization.
 
  
 
The National Youth Network is made up of the [[Council Youth Commissioner|Council Youth Commissioners]] from every council across Canada, three Assistant National Youth Commissioners from Eastern, Central and Western Canada and is chaired by the National Youth Commissioner (currently [http://www.scouts.ca/ca/national-youth-network-representatives Kaylee Galipeau]).
 
The National Youth Network is made up of the [[Council Youth Commissioner|Council Youth Commissioners]] from every council across Canada, three Assistant National Youth Commissioners from Eastern, Central and Western Canada and is chaired by the National Youth Commissioner (currently [http://www.scouts.ca/ca/national-youth-network-representatives Kaylee Galipeau]).
Line 24: Line 22:
 
== Members on the National Youth Network ==
 
== Members on the National Youth Network ==
 
=== [[National Youth Commissioner]] ===
 
=== [[National Youth Commissioner]] ===
* Kaylee Galipeau, [mailto:kgalipeau@scouts.ca kgalipeau@scouts.ca]
+
* [[Caitlyn Piton]], [mailto:cpiton@scouts.ca cpiton@scouts.ca]
  
 
=== [[Assistant National Youth Commissioner]] ===
 
=== [[Assistant National Youth Commissioner]] ===
* West - Melvin Chan, [mailto:melvinchan@scouts.ca melvinchan@scouts.ca]
+
* West - Marlissa Moro, [mailto:marlissa.moro@scouts.ca marlissa.moro@scouts.ca]
* Central - Gennesse Walker-Scace, [mailto:gwalker-scace@scouts.ca gwalker-scace@scouts.ca]
+
* Central - Carly Skan, [mailto: carly.skan@scouts.ca carly.skan@scouts.ca]
* East - Glenn Day, [mailto:gday@scouts.ca gday@scouts.ca]
+
* East - Stephen Loney, [mailto:stephen.loney@scouts.ca stephen.loney@scouts.ca]
  
=== [[Council Youth Commissioner]] ===
+
* Professional Development - Keegan Eatmon, [mailto:kneatmon@scouts.ca kneatmon@scouts.ca]
  
 +
=== [[Council Youth Commissioner]] ===
 
'''British Columbia'''
 
'''British Columbia'''
 
* Cascadia – Owen Paetkau, [mailto:owen.paetkau@scouts.ca owen.paetkau@scouts.ca]
 
* Cascadia – Owen Paetkau, [mailto:owen.paetkau@scouts.ca owen.paetkau@scouts.ca]
* Pacific Coast - Cindy Mei, [mailto:scoutercindy@gmail.com scoutercindy@gmail.com]
+
* Pacific Coast - Benjamin Ng, [mailto:benjamin.ng@scouts.ca benjamin.ng@scouts.ca]
* Fraser Valley - Caitlyn Piton, [mailto:cpiton@scouts.ca cpiton@scouts.ca]
+
* Fraser Valley - Kenya Mendoza, [mailto:kenya.mendoza@scouts.ca kenya.mendoza@scouts.ca]
 
   
 
   
 
'''Alberta'''
 
'''Alberta'''
* Chinook - Ameliea Sawatzky, [mailto:ameliea.sawatzky@scouts.ca ameliea.sawatzky@scouts.ca]
+
* Chinook - Vacant
 
* Northern Lights - Morgan McKinney, [mailto:morgan.mckinney@scouts.ca morgan.mckinney@scouts.ca]
 
* Northern Lights - Morgan McKinney, [mailto:morgan.mckinney@scouts.ca morgan.mckinney@scouts.ca]
 
   
 
   
Line 46: Line 45:
 
   
 
   
 
'''Manitoba'''
 
'''Manitoba'''
* Manitoba - vacant
+
* Manitoba - Victoria Knapp, [mailto:victoria.knapp@scouts.ca victoria.knapp@scouts.ca]
 
   
 
   
 
'''Ontario'''
 
'''Ontario'''
 
* Northern Ontario - Rebecca Dale, [mailto:rebecca.dale@scouts.ca rebecca.dale@scouts.ca]
 
* Northern Ontario - Rebecca Dale, [mailto:rebecca.dale@scouts.ca rebecca.dale@scouts.ca]
* White Pine - Zach Prescott, [mailto:wpcyc@scouts.ca wpcyc@scouts.ca]
+
* White Pine - Vacant
 
* Voyageur - Devon Staff, [mailto:devon.staff@scouts.ca devon.staff@scouts.ca]
 
* Voyageur - Devon Staff, [mailto:devon.staff@scouts.ca devon.staff@scouts.ca]
* Tri Shores - Stewart Giem, [mailto:stewart.giem@scouts.ca stewart.giem@scouts.ca]
+
* Tri Shores - Carlie Tiller, [mailto:carlie.tiller@scouts.ca carlie.tiller@scouts.ca]
 
* Central Escarpment - Alex Court, [mailto:cec_youth@scouts.ca cec_youth@scouts.ca]
 
* Central Escarpment - Alex Court, [mailto:cec_youth@scouts.ca cec_youth@scouts.ca]
* Battlefields - Nicholas Larmond, [mailto:bfcyc@scouts.ca bfcyc@scouts.ca]
+
* Battlefields - Ashley Guay, [mailto:ashley.guay@scouts.ca ashley.guay@scouts.ca]
* Shining Waters - Cody Dixon, [mailto:swcyc@scouts.ca swcyc@scouts.ca]
+
* Shining Waters - Vacant
 
* Greater Toronto - Grace Lee, [mailto:grace.lee@scouts.ca grace.lee@scouts.ca]
 
* Greater Toronto - Grace Lee, [mailto:grace.lee@scouts.ca grace.lee@scouts.ca]
 
   
 
   
Line 68: Line 67:
 
   
 
   
 
'''Prince Edward Island'''
 
'''Prince Edward Island'''
* Prince Edward Island - vacant
+
* Prince Edward Island - Vacant
 
   
 
   
 
'''Newfoundland and Labrador'''
 
'''Newfoundland and Labrador'''
* Newfoundland and Labrador - Kara Snow, [mailto:ksnow@scouts.ca ksnow@scouts.ca]
+
* Newfoundland and Labrador - Vacant
+
 
 
'''International Groups'''
 
'''International Groups'''
 
* Group Youth Commissioner for 1st Geilenkirchen (Scouts Canada - Europe) – Ben Perrin
 
* Group Youth Commissioner for 1st Geilenkirchen (Scouts Canada - Europe) – Ben Perrin
  
 
==Get Involved!==
 
==Get Involved!==
 
 
Looking to get involved in the Scouts Canada Youth Network?  Send us an e-mail at [mailto:nyn@scouts.ca nyn@scouts.ca], or check out our [http://www.scouts.ca/ca/youth-opportunities youth opportunities] page!
 
Looking to get involved in the Scouts Canada Youth Network?  Send us an e-mail at [mailto:nyn@scouts.ca nyn@scouts.ca], or check out our [http://www.scouts.ca/ca/youth-opportunities youth opportunities] page!
 
  
 
[[Category:Organization]]
 
[[Category:Organization]]
 
[[Category:National]]
 
[[Category:National]]
 
[[Category:National Committees]]
 
[[Category:National Committees]]

Revision as of 16:26, 20 December 2015

Contents

Scouts Canada National Youth Network

The National Youth Network exists to:

  • Ensure meaningful youth involvement occurs wherever decisions are made within Scouts Canada;
  • Provide direction in all areas of youth programming;
  • Ensure coordination with council youth networks; and
  • Encourage youth to take on leadership roles at all levels of our organization.

The National Youth Network is made up of the Council Youth Commissioners from every council across Canada, three Assistant National Youth Commissioners from Eastern, Central and Western Canada and is chaired by the National Youth Commissioner (currently Kaylee Galipeau).

Some of the current projects and accomplishments of the NYN are:

  • The impACT 2012 Youth Conference, bringing together more than 150 young leaders from all across Canada with a common goal of "Making your Mark". The impACT Youth Conference is set for its second instalment in the fall of 2015.
  • Development and promotion of FLEX, FAST and FOCUS – our Youth Leadership training programs for Cub Scout, Scout and Venturer Scout aged youth.
  • Creation and maintenance the Medal of the Maple for distinguished youth service (see Medal of the Maple for Distinguished Youth Service);
  • Maintenance of Council, Area, and regional youth networks across the country; and
  • Engagement of youth all across the country at every level of this movement to make Scouting in Canada the best it can be.

The National Youth Network is only a small part of the larger Scouts Canada Youth Network that is made up of the National Youth Network, all the Council Youth Networks, all the Area Youth Networks and other youth representatives across Canada.

The National Youth Network was created in 1995 under the leadership of Steve Kent. In the past 15 years, the NYN has made incredible progress within Scouts Canada in the promotion and enhancement of youth leadership.

Members on the National Youth Network

National Youth Commissioner

Assistant National Youth Commissioner

Council Youth Commissioner

British Columbia

Alberta

Saskatchewan

Manitoba

Ontario

Quebec

New Brunswick

Nova Scotia

Prince Edward Island

  • Prince Edward Island - Vacant

Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Newfoundland and Labrador - Vacant

International Groups

  • Group Youth Commissioner for 1st Geilenkirchen (Scouts Canada - Europe) – Ben Perrin

Get Involved!

Looking to get involved in the Scouts Canada Youth Network? Send us an e-mail at nyn@scouts.ca, or check out our youth opportunities page!